Article

Are you unsure about a career change? Here are a few questions to ask yourself

Have you ever thought about changing jobs? Then ask yourself these few questions to find out whether this is a good idea or not.

Don’t worry: the Liverpool trip posts will continue next week!

  1. A different job or a new career?

It’s very normal that you get a bit bored with your job after two or three years. You now know what’s expected of you, and you no longer learn anything new. It’s logical that you have doubts about a new job. This doesn’t mean that you have to make a career change immediately, but sometimes a different position within the company can be exactly what you’re looking for.

2. Internship

Often, the image you have of a new job isn’t entirely realistic. It would, therefore, be fantastic if you could try out the job by, for example, doing an internship one day a week or shadowing for a few days. Then you can experience whether this job is what you’re looking for or not.

3. What’s stopping you?

Why don’t you dare to change jobs? What’s holding you back? Insecurity, salary, and the opinions of the people around you? For example, if you’re afraid of failure, this is actually not a good reason not to take the step. There’s a chance that you may fail, but it isn’t the end of the world.

4. Time and energy

A new job takes a lot of time and energy in the beginning. You have to learn things and meet new people. To what extent will this succeed? Are you feeling good at the moment, and do you have enough energy to cope with this change?

5. Goals

What are your long-term goals in the field of work, and does your current job fit into this picture? If not, then it may indeed be time to change jobs or even make a career change.

Free Person Holding Apple Magic Mouse Stock Photo

Love, Skye Lewis ❤

You can also follow me on FacebookTwitterInstagramTwitch, and TikTok

Image source: Pexels

16 thoughts on “Are you unsure about a career change? Here are a few questions to ask yourself

  1. I thought of having a career change from animator to front of house to game designer. But I realised I’d need to go to uni in order to get a decent job so I’m undecided, even if I do go to uni I still probably won’t achieve a dream job. I know many of the people I used to go to school with either went of to university last year, or decided to have a family and settle down. Kinda feel left behind if I’m honest, I know it isn’t a race but when you see everyone else speeding ahead of you in life it’s kinda off putting. If I’m honest I don’t even know what I want to do ha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Honestly, with the study I’m doing, I have no idea if it’s gonna get me a job. But that’s part of life. You take risks. And you do it at your own pace. There are no age limits or restrictions to uni, a job, or whatever else

      Like

Een reactie plaatsen